ACM S3 2013

Workshop Program

Location: Hibiscus B

8:30 - 9:15


9:15 - 9:30

Opening Remarks

Ardalan Amiri Sani and Lenin Ravindranath

9:30 - 10:30

Paper Session: Wireless

Chairs: Apurv Bhartia and Jie Xiong
  1. ArgosV2: A Flexible Many-Antenna Research Platform
    Clayton Shepard, Hang Yu, Lin Zhong (Rice University)

  2. SAW: Spectrum Assignment for WLANs
    Julien Herzen, Ruben Merz, Patrick Thiran (EPFL)

  3. Cross-tier Cooperative Transmission Strategy in Macro-pico Heterogeneous Network
    Chen Zhang, Xin Su, Jie Zeng, Zejiao Li, Yujun Kuang (Tsinghua University)

10:30 - 11:00

Coffee Break

11:00 - 11:30

Distinguished Speaker: Technical Talk

Kyle Jamieson
University College London

11:30 - 12:30

Paper Session: Connectivity

Chairs: Seungyeop Han and He Wang
  1. Information-Flow Tracking for Efficient Usage of Sensor Hubs
    Haichen Shen, Aruna Balasubramanian, Anthony LaMarca, David Wetherall (University of Washington, Intel Labs)

  2. Tipping the Balance: Towards Fairer Energy Consumption in Groups Connected via Device-to-Device Technologies
    Sascha Trifunovic, Andreea Picu, Theus Hossmann (ETH Zurich)

  3. u-map: a User-centric QoE-based Recommendation Tool for Wireless Access Markets
    Michalis Katsarakis, Theodosiadis Vasileios, Manos Dramitinos, Maria Papadopouli (University of Crete, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas)

12:30 - 2:00


Posters and Demos

Chairs: Eugene Chai and Chunyi Peng
  1. A GNURadio Based Receiver Toolkit for IEEE 80.a/g/p
    Bastian Bloessl, Michele Segata, Christoph Sommer and Falko Dressler (University of Innsbruck, University of Trento)

  2. ForeSight: Mapping Vehicles in Visual Domain and Electronic Domain
    Dong Li, Tarun Bansal, Zhixue Lu and Prasun Sinha (Ohio State University)

  3. A user-centric QoE-based recommendation tool for wireless access
    Michalis Katsarakis, Theodosiadis Vasileios, Manos Dramitinos, and Maria Papadopouli (University of Crete, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas)

  4. A Scalable Click-Based Open-Access Cognitive Radio Networks Protocols Testing Framework
    Ahmad Mamdouh, Abdelrahman Asal, Ahmed Salama, Moamen Elgendy, Moamen Mokhtar, Muhammed Elsayed, and Moustafa Youssef (Alexandria University, Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology)

  5. PiCode: D Barcode with Embedded Picture and ViCode: 3D Barcode with Embedded Video
    Wenjian Huang and Wai Ho Mow (Hong Kong University of Science and Techonology)

  6. Indoor Multi-AP White Space Network
    Jincheng Zhang, Wenjie Zhang, Minghua Chen (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

We will also have posters from paper presenters.

2:00 - 2:30

Distinguished Speaker: Technical Talk

Sharad Agarwal
Microsoft Research

2:30 - 3:30

Paper Session: Mobile and Cellular Networks

Chairs: Shuai Hao and Zengbin Zhang
  1. Multi-Network Control Framework for Mobile Applications
    Shuo Deng, Alvin Cheung, Sam Madden, Hari Balakrishnan (MIT)

  2. Sanket: A Signal Aware Communication Scheduler
    Abhijnan Chakraborty, Vishnu Navda, Venkata N. Padmanabhan, Ramachandran Ramjee (Microsoft Research India)

  3. Impact of Malicious TCP Retransmission on Cellular Traffic Accounting
    Younghwan Go, Denis Foo Kune, Shinae Woo, KyoungSoo Park, Yongdae Kim (KAIST, University of Michigan)

3:30 - 4:00

Coffee Break

4:00 - 5:00

Distinguished Panel

Moderators: Anand Iyer and Tam Vu

Victor Bahl
Microsoft Research

Edward Knightly
Rice University

Sampath Rangarajan
NEC Labs

5:00 - end of day

Elevator Pitch Contest

Moderators: Athula Balachandran and Ashish Patro

You can give a short 5 minute talk on any crazy mobile/wireless idea. Also, the best idea/talk will receive a cash prize of $300 and bragging rights amongst your peers. Contact the organizers to participate.

Current Participant List
Fadel Adib (MIT)
Jiasi Chen (Princeton)
Shuo Deng (MIT)
Swarun Kumar (MIT)
Peng Liu (UW Madison)
Jue Wang (MIT)
Shuai Wang (University of Minnesota)
Xuhang Ying (CUSK)
Copyright © 2013, ACM S3.